Nasarawa Assembly gets new Speaker and Deputy

Members of the Nasarawa State House of Assembly have unanimously elected, Danladi Jatau, representing Kokona West Constituency as Speaker of the House.

The house elected Jatau as the speaker on Friday, December 1, 2023, during a plenary.

The lawmakers similarly elected Mohammed Oyanki representing Doma North Constituency as the Deputy Speaker.

The newly occupied positions followed Tuesday’s sack of the former Speaker, Ibrahim Abdullahi at the Appeal Court sitting in Abuja.

The new Speaker, Jatua, a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC), collaborated with Oyanki, who is a member of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) emerged as leader of the assembly in order to maintain its existing peace.

Meanwhile, The Nasarawa State chapter of the PDP has appealed to the Supreme Court to review the Court of Appeal’s decision in Abuja, which validated Governor Abdullahi Sule’s victory in the 2023 governorship election.

Initially, the state election petitions tribunal overturned Sule’s victory, declaring David Ombugadu of the PDP as the winner.

However, the appellate court later affirmed Sule as the rightful governor, ruling that the tribunal erred in its vote re-computation and declaration.

PDP’s women leader in Nasarawa, Stella Oboshi, during a peaceful protest in Lafia, expressed concerns over the appellate court’s judgment.

She argued that the decision undermined democratic principles and called for the Supreme Court to thoroughly examine the case, emphasizing the importance of democracy in Nigeria.

She also criticized the Independent National Electoral Commission’s initial declaration of Sule as the elected governor, suggesting a lack of transparency.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *