Sultan Declares Tomorrow Eid-el-Fitr, Ramadan Continues

Sultan Declares Tomorrow Eid-el-Fitr, Ramadan Continues

The Sultan of Sokoto, His Eminence Muhammad Sa’ad Abubakar has declared tomorrow (Wednesday) as Eid-Fitr day.
The Sultan, who is the president-general of the Nigeria Supreme Council for Islamic Affairs (NSCIA), said the decision followed the report of National Moon Sighting Committees across the country confirming not sighting of the new moon.

In a statement signed by the chairman, the Advisory Committee on Religious Affairs to the Sultanate Council, Professor Sambo Wali Junaidu, and made available to newsmen in Sokoto last night, he said the council accepted the report and accordingly declared Wednesday, April 10, 2024 as the first day of Shawwal 1445AH.

“His Eminence, the Sultan felicitates with the Nigerian Muslim Ummah, and wishes them Allah’s guidance and blessings.
“The Sultan while urging the Muslim Ummah to continue to pray for peace, progress, and development of the country, also wishes all Muslims a happy Eid-El-Fitri,” Junaidu said
Meanwhile, Nigeria’s major para-military agencies have rolled out measures to ensure hitch-free Eid-el-Fitr celebration nationwide.

The commandant-general, Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC), Dr Ahmed Abubakar Audi, yesterday ordered the deployment of 40,000 officers and men across the country to ensure the protection of life and property during and after the Sallah celebration.

Audi, through the corps national spokesperson, Babawale Afolabi, said the operation would cover recreation centres, public places and critical infrastructure and public utilities.
Also, the corps marshal of the Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC), Dauda Ali Biu, directed that over 28,000 corps’ operatives (regular and special marshals) be deployed for Sallah celebration to cover 51 corridors during the Eid-el-Fitri special patrol which commenced on April 8 and will end on April 13, 2024.

Among the corridors are Akwanga-Lafiya-Makurdi, Jos-Bauchi-Gombe, Sokoto-Tambuwal-Jega-Birnin Kebbi corridor, Katsina-Kano-Wudil-Dutse-Azare-Potiskum corridor, Kaduna-Saminaka-Jos corridor, Abuja-Kaduna-Kano corridor, Okene-Ogori-Isua-Owo corridor, Makurdi-Otukpo-Obollo Afor-9th Mile corridor, Asaba-Abraka-Ughelli-Warri corridor, Ibadan-Ogere-Sagamu corridor, Sagamu-Mowe-Lagos corridor, Bauchi-Alkaleri-Kaltungo, Kaduna-Kachia-Kwoi-Manchok, Keffi-Nasarawa-Toto-Abaji-Lokoja and Lekki-Epe-Ijebu Ode.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *